Experiencing Bunk Bed Hotel for the first time

Hi there,

Today’s post will telling you (in case there is anyone read this blog) about my experience when I stayed at Bunk Bed Hotel for a couple of days when I was in Yogyakarta.

So, after I bought one way train ticket to Yogyakarta, I asked my friend, Ade, straight through Whatsapp about the name of the hotel she stayed in when she was there. I was browsing it a bit to get the information about the lodging. Then after I read all of the information, I made a phone call to the hotel to make a reservation.

The reason why I’ve chose for myself to stay with female stranger at the same room? Because I have always curious to try such new thing, beside the price is affordable–its only IDR 95k for one night include breakfast, FYI.

The hotel I have booked designed for backpakers who need a place to have some rest after exploring the city and to put their belongings while they are away. So do not expect that this hotel has a sea or forest view from the bedroom. The hotel itself consist:
  • 1 living room, include: 1 tv, 1 fan, 2 benches and 1 coffee table
  • 1 reading area placed right beside the receptionist
  • 1 outside bathroom
  • 2 outside toilets
  • 4 bedrooms (for female and male). Each room has 4 bunk beds with reading lamp, 1 locker for each guest, 1 bathroom—but do not expect they provide hot water, and an AC. If the room are full of guests, then you will stay with 7 different people that come from different country. Isn’t it sounds cool?
  • 1 long table and 1 bench right beside the living room. They will put the fruits, breads and some butters for breakfast
  • 1 empty room with no door next to the kitchen for people who want to have some chit-chat on the phone
  • 1 kitchen—the concept of this hotel is self-service, so you can have extra coffee, tea and water in here for free
  • 1 toaster
  • 1 small refrigerator and,
  • free wifi access.

I arrived at hotel around 8 PM that night to chcek-in and put my travel bag. The receptionist gave me three keys; 1 front door key, in case I return back to the lodging late; 1 bedroom door, in case the other guest already locked the door before I com; 1 locker key to put all my belongings. When I was in the room, a girl approached me and says, “waw, its beautiful..”. I was guessing that she gave me compliment about my appearance, hehe, but then I turned my head to her and realized that the beautiful thing she meant was the flower printed cardigan I worn that night. But I thanked her anyway, just trying to be nice with foreign people.

After buying a train ticket back to Jakarta, my brother and I didn’t go back straight to the lodging, but we went to Malioboro street to find Wedang Ronde that I was craving for. Wedang Ronde–Ronde abbriviated of ’round’, is a traditional beverage of Java native herbs. Wedang in Javanese means drink, while Ronde is a special batter consisting of a mixture of rice flour and brown sugar shaped dots and the inside contains crushed peanuts. To form Wedang Ronde, dipped in ronde doughs with warm water that made from ginger.

After that, my brother brought me back to the lodging, it took only approximately 15 minutes from Malioboro street. By the time I arrived at the lodging, I was sitting at the living room for awhile to check my phone and informed my Mum. The receptionist has already left and all guests were sleeping.

On the first day, I’ve got upside-bed and I made a noise by accident when I climbed the stairs of the bed. But I thanked God that nobody disturbed by the noise I’ve made. I couldn’t sleep straight at the moment, then I continued checking my social media until I manage to fall asleep. I think it was around 3 AM, a girl woke up to go to the toilet, then another girl woke up at the same time, they made some noices by accident and awaken the other girl. She was disturbed by the noise. She said, “Hey! Its still 3 AM in the morning, bla blaa bla!!!”. I was about to laugh but I couldn’t open my eyes. I mean, this is an example if we stay in a bunk bed hotel.

The next day, I woke up early in the morning. Then after washing my face and brushing my teeth, I went to have breakfast straight while reading news to keep in touch with current affairs. I made a cup of warm tea, I had breads too and two slices of watermelon. I saw a few guests in m bedroom was already checked out, and only two girls left, a white girl from Poland and I. I asked the receptionist to swap my bed to the bottom side.

After I took a shower, I lied down myself while waiting for my brother to pick me up, then the Poland girl greets me and asks my name. We had some chit-chat, introducing ourselves, sharing our destination why we came to Yogya and the plan after Yogya, etc. Her next destination was Bali. I was promoting some beaches from my hometown, but he’s just nodding. I think she has no idea about my hometown. Haha!

That’s the story about my experience when I stayed at the bunk bed hotel for couple of days. There are some pictures below that I tool from the internet of how the Bunk Bed and Breakfast hotel in Yogyakarta looks like from the outside. But, don’t expect too high. 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IMG_2135
Joanna with her stuff.
Leave a Reply

