Short escape, Yogyakarta

Last month, Mum has informed me that she and my Dad could not come to attending my brother’s graduation day inYogyakarta because they cannot leave my grandmum whom need a lot of attention than us, then she ask me to go. I agreed and excited. It has been a log time since tha last time I visited Yogyakarta, it was on 2009 btw. The graduation day carried out on 25th August 2016. I have bought the train ticket two weeks earlier before departure, because the price is cheaper than we buy it on the spot. I have bought Taksaka Malam for IDR 290k, an executive class–but unfortunately the economy class are sold out, so there was no option. Purchasing ticket is way too simple nowadays. When you need a ticket to go somewhere, you can order it online through the internet or contacting the travel agent by phone. I made a phone call to PT KAI (Kereta Api Indonesia) to order one way ticket. To order ticker, the customer service need our personal identity to process the ticket. After that, they will give you the booking code and limited time to pay. Simple isn’t it?

I’d prefer to use tran than plane because it simply I don’t like flying. Hahaha..

img_2323
Up: Gambir (Jakarta) to Tugu station (Yogyakarta) | Down: Lempuyangan (Yogyakarta) to Ps. Senen (Jakarta)

Day #1

On the day I arrived–it was 4.20 am approximately, my brother picked me up at Tugu station. I did not take some pictures of it because we were in a hurry and he need to get ready and preparing some stuff before the graduation ceremony begin. He dropped me off at my friend’s home, Kiki. Kiki is one of my best friend since we were in high school. She is married to a Javanese guy and has a three weeks old son names Russel. She names his son based on a little lad names Russel in UP the movie. She wish that her son will be like Russel in the future.

Hasna–she is my little brother’s gf picked me up at 7 am sharp to attend the ceremony. It was not only my brother who will graduated on that day, but also my cousin who finished his study for D4–the same stage as bachelor degrees, and his parents were coming too. The opening ceremony began at 8.30 am sharp. It took two hours or more for ceremonial of the cadets, the opening speech, the pledge and speech of the Minister of Agrarian that made us almost fall asleep. My brother got surprised when he saw Hasna were coming too. After we took some pictures, we went to get some food for lunch.

Day #2

On the second day which I have to check-in in the hotel I have booked, but my brother couldn’t pick me up due to there is an event he has to handle, so I have spent the whole day at Kiki’s home, because I felt a bit tired too and got lack of sleep. Kiki and I were just talking and remembering about the memories we have gotten when we were in high school–while she carries her baby all the time of course. There are a lot of things you have to do when you become a Mother such as feeding the baby, change the baby’s diaper, to bathe the baby and another baby stuff that makes you got lack of sleep just like a zombie. I got amazed that she is a mother now.

img_1751
Here you go the baby Russel
My brother picked me up in the evening, and I had to farewell with Kiki and her family. My brother brought me to attend a semi formal farewell dinner which managed by the cadets themselves. The even itself was intend to receive their families that came from their hometwon. My brother took a part as the leader of this event and he nailed it. After that, he accompany me to looking for the train ticket at the station, so I can strolling over the city without any worries in the next day.
Day #3
Before I come to Yogyakarta, I have already made an appointment with a friend. Both of us went to the same university in different batch. She is living in Yogyakarta to pursue her dreams and she finished her master degree in UGM (Gajah Mada University). I have spent a day with Meike and visited four different cafes. We had several things to discuss, she is an open minded person, a feminist, so I am very pleasant to share anything with her. The story of the Saturday night in Yogyakarta is to be continued.
Day #4
When I woke up in the morning–I guess it was around 6 am, the room was still dark, people were still sleeping. “Thelast day in Yogyakarta and I will be going back to Jakarta, back to my routine.”, I mumble. the train will be arrived at 8.22 pm at Lempuyangan station from Surabaya. I have asked the receptionist for late check out and she says if there is no new guests today, I could stay a bit longer. This is what I love about Yogyakarta, everyone is humble, everything is easy and cheap, I thank God that at least I can sleep for more hours to recover my energy–but hey, I realized that age is not only a number when you got lack of exercise, you will be get tired easily. Ugh!
It was raining hard that day and I was starving. My brother picked me up approx at 2 pm in the afternoon then we will find food for lunch after after the rain stop. We have decided to have food at the famous SS (Super Sambal) because they serve menus with affordable price. After that, we strolling over the city again, the weather is good that afternoow. In the middle of journey, I gave him some advice–well, I am trying to be a good sister, hehe 😀 After magrib, we returned to the hotel to take all my belongings then go straight to the train station. My brother accompanied me until the train come. The train arrived at 8.10 pm–10 minutes earlier. Farewell Yogyakarta and here I come, Jakarta.
Leave a Reply

