European on Screen (EOS) 2016

Hi,

Its been awhile, I have passed March and April with nothing left in here. I don’t have anything to post whilst I have spent my days by watching movies I have not watched, try to finish a book I am reading, experiences a few things in leisure. Now here I am, struggling to continue write something about what happens in my life lately.

In the end of April, Europe on Screen (EOS) started showcase the best selection of European films. This festival was held from 29 April – 8 May 2016 at 12 locations in six Indonesia major cities–Jakarta, Bandung, Bali, Medan, Surabaya and Yogyakarta.

europeonscreen_social-banners-618x366-1
Pic from here

I have attended the first day at Erasmus Huis Auditorium in Netherlands embassy. That was my first time joined the festival with a friend and another movie enthusiast in Jakarta. Some of them came alone, some with their sister/borther, some with friends and some with their spouse. When I was in Makassar, I usually attended the festival mostly with my some friends who also has the same enthusiastic of film as I am. Apparently, they did not hold the festival in Makassar this year.

I have also checked some of the synopsis and watch the trailers to get some illustration of the genre. I have list of films in my mind which ones I really want to see, but when I check the schedule, there are some films that will be played during weekdays which I couldn’t possibly attend. The first film I watch was “Two Days, One Night”. A film from Belgium directed by Jean-Pierre Dardenne and Luc Dardenne. On the same day, I watch three films in a row. The second film was “Human Capitol”, then the last was “Long Live Freedom”. The next day, I did not come back due tue several things should be done on time.

The last film I watch was “A Royal Night Out”. A drama comedy film from UK. The film tells about London society celebrate the official end of World War II in Europe where the future Queen of England, Elizabeth, and her sister, Margaret were 19 and 14 years old. They both are are allowed out (but incognito) to join the celebration. The film was pretty much entertaining to me, I could not stop laughing during the film due to the characterestic of Margaret.

img-20160505-wa0008
Picture taken by my friend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

