Attending Chinese wedding reception

Singkawang – Kalimantan Barat has diverse kind of race population such as Melayu, Dayak, and Tionghoa. Last night, I have been invited to a wedding reception of my friends from high school. Both groom and bride are originally Tionghoa–which also my first time in my life attending a Chinese wedding ceremonial and I found a few different tradition among Chinese and local wedding.

First, it is about the color of the envelope. A friend told me that if we want to give them money, we have to use red color. Because red represent as blissfulness and luck while white envelope is usually for death ceremonial. Interesting though. Thanks to my friend who has reminded me of this. I have almost use the red one and embarras myself at the moment. The second is, while in the middle of the party, the official couple came to approach their friends at the hall to make some pictures. But in local wedding, the couple will approach and gather with their friends at the end of the party. Third, is about the songs. In Chinese wedding reception, the band will playing most of western and Chines songs. I have been attending some of local weddings of my friends and some of the children of my parent’s friends, mostly the band playing Indonesian songs and Dangdut. FYI, Dangdut is one of Indonesian famous music, you can check it on Google if you curious about it. As we (Indonesian) all know, that Dangdur is a-must song at a wedding reception and mostly requested by old people. Usually, the parents have to contribute to sing along the band they rent to celebrate the happy moment.

The rest is just the same, for instance; the food, the decorations, the band, the photo session and etc. Unfortunately, my friends and I have missed an important scene where the couple kissing to each other as a sign that they both are become official as husband-wife. But in Islam, the groom himself only allowed kiss the bride’s forehead in front of the guests, because kissing lips in front of the guests is just a kind of taboo.

ana
I have taken some pics of my friend in high school, they are the beautiful Amoy Singkawang. Septi, me, Cathy, Dorkas Lie, -, Megawati, Bun Jovita, Tokhifui, Martina Bongso, -, Listiyeni, Bong Maylin, Bong Miki, Lidya Chandra

I think it has been more than ten years I have not met with these girls since I moved. I was very excited because I also catch up with some of my former classmates. A few of them are married and having kids, some are still single just like myself. Oh! I have noticed something that maybe I will take it as a new lesson, that my Chinese friends (esp girls) didn’t apply too much make-up on their face, and I realised that some of them didn’t even apply lipstick on their lips. Simple and looks cool, I must say.

Anyway, sometimes I am wondering how cool to live from a city to another city, not only get a new experience but also new friends from different races. I am so grateful.
Leave a Reply

