Smile I adore

Yesterday, I went to Plaza Semanggi (Plangi) straight after office time to looking for girl’s stuff with a friend by using Busway. Before we reach the building, we walked across the overpass, then I met a little boy who selling a bunch of handmade key chain. One thing I noticed when I am staring at him was his smile. He kept smiling to the people who walk through him whilst he offer the key chains he sells to those people. Unfortunatelly, not so many people noticed him I guess, maybe he is just too short to be noticed.

Everytime I go to the Plangi, I have always wished that he will be there and buying at least one of the stuff he sells. It was literally surprised me that he was there, then I made up myself to approach him. I bought a green Kero Keropi’s head key chain that made by flannel fabric. I could not hold myself to pop him some questions–like where he lives, his age, who accompany him to come to this place, his hobbies, what he likes, etc.

He answers my curiosity with his typical beautiful smile on his face that I adore. He says that he started working at 3 pm in the afternoon and returned back to their home in Bekasi at 9 pm in the evening. Wow, I am surprised, Bekasi is not close. How he can manage to do that? Unbelievable. I am wondering, how tough his life is while most of normal boys of his age are still enthusiast with playing around with their friends, toys, or studying etc. This little guy named Fabian has completely stolen my heart.

Me: “Halo, ini apa sih, Dek?” (sambil mengangkat satu dagangannya yang berbentuk kepala kodok). “Ooh, gantungan kunci”, kataku dalam hati. “Satu harganya berapa?”, he smiled and start explaining.
Fabian: “Kalau beli satuan, harganya 25k, kalau beli dua harganya murah jadi 40k, soalnya lagi ada promo Natal, Kak.”, ucapnya riang dengan senyum lebar khasnya di wajahnya.

He amaze me by the way he explains the price and the promo of stuff he sells. Then we continued talking. I’ve got the information that he came to that place with his father who also working near to the bridge. He didn’t mention what kind of job his father has. Such a brave little guy. I couldn’t compare this little one to most of boys who has the same age as him, this one is different.

I personally envy of the spirit he has to struggle and face the reality of life. Nothing comes easy, I must say. Dear little Fabian, you are an amazing little boy I’ve ever met.

Ps: I forgot to take a selfie with him, but I will make it next time when I meet him again.
Leave a Reply

