I miss you, Dad

Every time I start to talk about anything that relate to my parents, it will turns to be quite sensitive.

I remember of my Dad in all of a sudden. It doesn’t mean I am not thinking about my mother because we talk like every single day through the cellphone. Since my father got retired from his job a couple of years ago, he spend his day in peacefulness, quiet and he keep trying to get closer to God which makes us delightful. I thank to God for this. I feel sorry about a few of his friends who spend their life in prison because they have done something wrong. And once more, I thank to God that He didn’t let my father get involved.

Today, I remember about a night when I was a kid. It was right after we had a usual family dinner. His flight was at the midnight, that’s why he had to leave home earlier in order to anticipating the traffic issue. Mom and I accompanied him to the front door of our home. The cab that he has ordered through public phone were waiting. He went to Japan for official assignment. I was sad, because he used to have storytelling every night before I go to sleep. I asked him to return home as quick as possible, then he landed me a kiss on my forehead, and I hugged him tightly. I was hurt when I saw him waves to us, seeing his back and watched him walking away. As I remember, he traveled for like a couple of weeks or so, which means its a quite long time for a 6-year-old girl to wait.

Every time he was abroad, we didn’t talk either through phone or internet, because it costs a lot of money, so we didn’t know when he returned home. I’ve asked Mom every single day when my Dad will be home. I can barely remember what Mom had answered. By the time he came home, it became a huge surprise for us. The most important thing for us that he never forgot to buy us toys. The first toy he bought from Japan for me was a cute electronic clown doll. That thing was my first fancy toy. My brother have gotten a big electronic jet plane complete with the remote control to operate the plan itself. Both toys were the fanciest things we have gotten that our Dad can afford at the moment.

My Dad is a quiet kind of human being, but, I still remember his widest smile by the time he hand us the toys he has bought for us. I can see his face that full of love, I think this is what called true love.

However, there are plenty moments between my Dad and I. It could bring my tears coming down if I write it in here. I think I’ve just missed the moment I’ve spent with him. Now, his hair turns grey, his face got wrinkled. I really miss those bed stories you have shared to me every night, Dad. I hope someday you will share those fairytale stories to your grandkids, eventhough I know that you’re not good at it, hehe.

Happy Father’s Day. Words could not describe how much I love you and how much I miss you and I will always be Daddy’s little daughter.
Your little girl.
Leave a Reply

